#mt April: EvE Online in a different genre: strategy ala browser game

Good day everyone, Jezaja has started the next round of our Topic of the Month. The topic this time: How would you imagine EvE in another genre. With the background that EvE has already made it into several genres, this is of course a very exciting question. A realization as a shooter (DUST514 or all the other projects), as a flight simulation (Valkyrie) or “railshooter” (Gunjack) are at least a few genres represented.

EvE is very strategic and why shouldn’t EvE Online be considered a strategy game in the real sense? But what is the connection with a browser game now? The end of my school time and the first time in my studies were very much influenced by browser games in the SciFi area, I count Galaxywars, X-Wars, Space-Assault or Die Ewigen among them.

Probably the best known and active title is O-Game. All of them work according to the same principle. At the beginning you own a planet and you can expand it to collect more resources, build more ships and research faster. Over time, you’ll build bigger and more powerful ships and colonize more planets to expand your reach.

You formed alliances with other players and these were organized into so-called meta-alliances, if desired. And of course there were wars and to beat each other up or rob each other. So basically like EvE and just as fun. But how would EvE basically. Now how would EvE be changed to exactly this genre?

The starting point is relatively simple. We don’t play a pilot anymore but we play a whole corp directly and our corp gets bigger and bigger. Of course, there are a few mechanics that need to be changed. So we do not control each pilot individually but we research and learn a so-called pilot group. This is where the individual activities in EvE fall under. These are for this variant: Exploration; Mining, Mission/Ratting and Combat (PVP).

The recruited pilots are then assigned to a category by the player. Of course it is so that the pilots can not directly everything from the beginning but come through experience just within this activity to the next level. Each level requires certain *internal* skills and has a certain ship class, which of course must be researched by the corp before.

Fleet management is central at this point. Means that we can research the individual components of the ships basically in the Corp so that the Corp can build them. Similar to the original, the individual hulls are available, which are then fitted. These are then saved and can then be built specifically. Meaning we don’t build the ships later but we build the fitting which requires material to be produced. To be able to fly this fitting a pilot must fulfill certain conditions.

The skills for weapons, for example, can always be continued from the point of view of the Corp and the ships remain but in the construction status and only by updating to the current components, they become better. The individual fleets receive can be specifically composed and thus receive different tasks and tactical options. These fleets can then be sent on mission accordingly. In a system for a certain time miner, missions fly or however raids on other stations.

This is also the next approach. A corp always has its own station as a base, which can be attacked and looted, but cannot be destroyed. Every inactive fleet is always in defense mode and defends the current station where it is stationed. This also means that primarily only active fleets are safe, but of course they can also experience ship losses from time to time. Stations can also be equipped with defensive weapons. Since we can loot the station we also need corresponding ships and of course soldiers.

For the latter, DUST sends its regards and you can breed appropriate soldiers for defense and attack. There is also the possibility to specialize. There are also possibilities to protect the stored materials so that not everything is gone in case of defeat.

Let’s take a look at navigation. Basically, there is theoretically a player station at each moon, and everyone in highsec starts in one of four central quadrants, one for each empire. Of course EvE is huge and still the number of planets and moons would have to be increased accordingly to accommodate all players. The choice of starting area would then also determine the faction. With time around with trade, however, each corp could own ships of all factions. Each faction would have strengths or weaknesses. For example, the Amarr could have strong defenses but slower ships. Minmatar could have faster and more maneuverable ships, but worse defense. Caldari have high damage and Gallente are balanced. Basically, you can clearly distinguish the factions here in terms of gameplay.

Of course, there are other areas here as well. The Lowsec and the Nullspace. Both have advanced mechanics here, such as the ability to set up gate camps. Or in Nullspace to take possession of corresponding areas with the difference that these areas can be conquered. So that here own stations can be taken over by third parties. Playing in these areas is of course much more rewarding, because there are more resources available than in highsec for further research and specialization of the ships.
Nevertheless, it is still possible for highsec players to send missions to these areas to get them as well. The way there is just longer and more laborious, because the ships and stations are not already on site and existing gate camps may be in the way. Nevertheless it is also worth to raid the stations of players there. Compared to highsec, ongoing fleet actions in lowsec and null could be disrupted by combat fleets. The corp itself must of course have appropriate research possibilities available so that it is at all able to develop these areas due to the range and to be able to establish further stations at all.

The EvE map is also a certain challenge in such a game. Since each system is fixed in the region, the players have advantages because of the random starting position. This constellation could be broken up into the systems of a constellation are located in a circle. These are in turn connected in a circle in the region. These individual areas of highsec, lowsec and nullsec would also have to be connected accordingly. So we can imagine these levels as parts of a disk. On the very outside are the four factions. Each quadrant of the map for one faction. The next inner part would be the Lowsec, followed in the NPC Null and the one in the middle as gladly the previous Nullspace.

I think such a game would be a fun pastime for mobile devices as well.

How do you see it and what ideas do you have?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

powered by WordPress | Theme: mistu by Abhay Raj.

EVE Online and the EVE logo are the registered trademarks of CCP hf. All rights are reserved worldwide. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners. EVE Online, the EVE logo, EVE and all associated logos and designs are the intellectual property of CCP hf. All artwork, screenshots, characters, vehicles, storylines, world facts or other recognizable features of the intellectual property relating to these trademarks are likewise the intellectual property of CCP hf. CCP hf. has granted permission to "teh world of Sendriss" to use EVE Online and all associated logos and designs for promotional and information purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not in any way affiliated with, "teh World of Sendriss". CCP is in no way responsible for the content on or functioning of this website, nor can it be liable for any damage arising from the use of this website.
%d bloggers like this:

#TdM April: EvE Online in einem anderen Genre: Strategie ala Browsergame

Guten Tag Zusammen, Jezaja hat die nächste Runde in unserem Thema des Monats eingeläutet. Das Thema diesmal: Wie würde ihr euch EvE in einem anderen Genre vorstellen. Mit dem Hintergrund, dass es EvE bereits in mehrere Genre geschafft hat natürlich eine sehr spannende Fragestellung. Ein Umsetzung als Shooter (DUST514 oder die ganzen anderen Projekte), als Flugsimulation (Valkyrie) oder “Railshooter” (Gunjack) sind zumindest ein paar Genre vertreten.

EvE ist sehr strategisch und wieso sollte man EvE Online nicht mal Strategiespiel im eigentlich Sinne betrachten? Was ist den jetzt aber der Zusammenhang mit einem Browsergame? Das Ende meiner Schulzeit bzw. die erste Zeit im Studium waren sehr von Browsergames im SciFi-Bereich geprägt, hierzu zähle ich unter anderem Galaxywars, X-Wars, Space-Assault oder Die Ewigen.

Der aktuell wahrscheinlich noch bekannteste und aktive Titel sollte hier O-Game sein. Alle funktionieren ungefähr nachdem gleichen Prinzip. Ihr besitzt zu beginn einen Planeten und diesen könnt ihr fleißig ausbauen um mehr Rohstoffe zu sammeln, mehr Raumschiffe zu bauen und schneller zu forschen. Mit der Zeit habt ihr immer größere und mächtigere Schiffe gebaut und mehrere Planeten besiedelt um so eure Reichweite zu vergrößern.

In Allianzen habt ihr euch mit anderen Spielern zusammengeschlossen und diese wider rum wurden in sogenannten Meta-Allianzen organisiert, wenn gewünscht. Und es wurden natürlich Kriege geführt und sich gegenseitig auf die Fresse zu hauen oder auszurauben. Also im Grunde wie EvE und genauso lustig. Aber wie würde EvE im Grunde. Wie würde man nun EvE auf genau dieses Genre umändern?

Die Ausgangsbasis ist relativ einfach. Wir spielen keinen Piloten mehr sondern wir spielen direkt eine ganze Corp und unsere Corp wird immer größer. Natürlich gibt es hier ein paar Mechaniken die umgestellt werden müssen. So steuern wir nicht jeden Piloten einzeln sondern wir forschen und lernen eine sogenannte Pilotengruppe. Hier drunter fallen dann die einzelnen Tätigkeiten in EvE. Diese sind für diese Variante: Exploration; Mining, Mission/Ratting und Combat (PVP).

Die rekrutierten Piloten werden anschließend vom Spieler in eine Kategorie zugeordnet. Natürlich ist es so, dass die Piloten nicht von Anfang an direkt alles können sondern über Erfahrung halt innerhalb dieser Tätigkeit auf die nächste Stufe kommen. Jede Stufe setzt bestimmten *interne* Skills voraus und verfügt über eine bestimmte Schiffsklasse die natürlich von der Corp vorher erforscht sein muss.

Das Flottenmanagement ist hier an dieser Stelle zentral. Bedeutet, dass wir die einzelnen Komponenten der Schiffe grundsätzlich in der Corp erforschen können damit die Corp diese bauen kann. Ähnlich wie auch im Original können stehen die einzelnen Rümpfe zur Verfügung, welche dann mit einem Fitting versehen werden. Diese werden dann gespeichert und können anschließend gezielt gebaut werden. Heißt wir bauen nicht die Schiffe später sondern wir bauen die Fitting die entsprechend Material voraussetzt, das produziert werden muss. Um dieses Fitting fliegen zu können muss ein Pilot bestimmte Voraussetzungen erfüllen.

Die Skills für Waffen z.B. können immer weiter geführt werden aus Sicht der Corp und die Schiffe bleiben aber im Baustatus und nur durch Update auf die aktuellen Komponenten werden diese besser. Die einzelnen Flotten erhalten können spezifisch zusammengesetzt werden und erhalten somit verschiedene Aufgaben und taktische Möglichkeiten. Diese Flotten können dann entsprechend auf Mission geschickt werden. In einem System für eine bestimmte Zeit minern, Missionen fliegen oder aber Überfälle auf andere Stationen.

Dies ist auch schon der nächste Ansatz. Eine Corp besitzt als Basis immer eine eigene Station die zwar angegriffen und geplündert werden kann aber nicht zerstörbar ist. Jede nicht aktive Flotte ist grundsätzlich im Verteidigungsmodus und verteidigt die aktuelle Station wo diese stationiert ist. Heißt somit auch, dass in erster Linie nur aktive Flotten sicher sind, aber natürlich können diese auch immer mal wieder Schiffsverluste erfahren. Stationen können ebenfalls mit Verteidigungswaffen ausgerüstet werden. Da wir die Station plündern können müssen wir natürlich auch entsprechende Schiffe und natürlich Soldaten.

Für das letztere lässt DUST grüßen und man kann hier entsprechende Soldaten züchten für die Verteidigung und den Angriff. Es besteht somit auch die Möglichkeit sich zu spezialisieren. Auch gibt es Möglichkeiten die gelagerten Materialien zu schützen, dass im Falle einer Niederlage nicht alles weg ist.

Schauen wir uns noch das Thema Navigation an. Grundsätzlich ist es so, dass an jedem Mond theoretisch eine Spielerstation steht und alle im Highsec beginnen in einem von vier zentralen Quadranten für jede Empire einen. Natürlich ist EvE riesig und trotzdem müssten die Anzahl der Planeten und Monde entsprechend erhöht werden um alle Spieler zu beherbergen. Die Wahl des Startgebiet würde dann auch die Fraktion festlegen. Mit der Zeit um mit Handel könnte aber jede Corp Schiffe aller Fraktionen besitzen. Jede Fraktion hätte Stärken oder auch schwächen. So könnten die Amarr als Beispiel starke Verteidigungswerte besitzen aber dafür langsamere Schiffe haben. Minmatar schnellere und wendigere Schiffe und dafür schlechtere Verteidigungswerte. Caldari haben hohen Schaden und Gallente sind ausgeglichen. Grundsätzlich kann man hier spielerisch die Fraktionen deutlich unterscheiden.

Natürlich gibt es hier auch weitere Gebiete. Das Lowsec und der Nullspace. Beide haben hier erweiterte Mechaniken wie z.B. die Möglichkeiten Gatecamps aufzustellen. Oder im Nullspace entsprechende Gebiete für sich in Besitz zu nehmen mit dem Unterschied, dass diese Gebiete erobert werden können. So dass hier eigene Stationen von dritten übernommen werden können. Das spielen in diesen Gebieten ist natürlich deutlich lohnender, da es hier erweitere und mehrere Rohstoffe gibt es als im Highsec für die weiteren Forschungen und Spezialisierungen der Schiffe verfügbar sind.
Trotzdem ist es hier weiterhin für Highsec-Spieler möglich Missionen in diese Gebiete zu schicken um diese ebenfalls zu erhalten. Der Weg dahin ist halt länger und mühseliger, weil die Schiffe und Stationen nicht bereits vor Ort sind und ggf. vorhandene Gatecamps im Wege stehe. Trotzdem lohnt es sich auch die Stationen von Spielern dort zu überfallen. Im Vergleich zum Highsec könnten laufende Flottenaktionen im Lowsec und Null durch Kampfflotten gestört werden. Die Corp selbst muss natürlich entsprechende Möglichkeiten zur Forschung zur Verfügung haben damit diese überhaupt in der Lage ist diese Gebiete aufgrund der Reichweite zu erschließen und überhaupt weitere Stationen etablieren zu können.

Die EvE Map stellt in so einem Spiel auch eine gewisse Herausforderung da. Da jedes System fest im in der Region angebunden ist haben die Spieler aufgrund der zufälligen Startposition natürlich Vorteile. Diese Konstellation könnte aufgebrochen werden in die Systeme einer Konstellation in einem Kreis angesiedelt sind. Diese sind wiederum kreisförmig in der Region angebunden. Diese einzelnen Gebiete vom High- und Lowsec sowie Nullsec müssten auch entsprechend angebunden sein. So können wir uns diese Ebenen als Teile einer Scheibe vorstellen. Ganz außen die vier Fraktionen. Jeder Quadrant der Karte für eine Fraktion. Die nächste Innenliegende Teil wäre der Lowsec, gefolgt im NPC-Null und der in Mitte als gern der bisherige Nullspace.

Ich glaube so ein Spiel wäre auch für Mobileendgeräte ein lustiger Zeitvertreib.

Wie seht ihr es und was habt ihr für Ideen?

Kommentar verfassen

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

powered by WordPress | Theme: mistu by Abhay Raj.

EVE Online and the EVE logo are the registered trademarks of CCP hf. All rights are reserved worldwide. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners. EVE Online, the EVE logo, EVE and all associated logos and designs are the intellectual property of CCP hf. All artwork, screenshots, characters, vehicles, storylines, world facts or other recognizable features of the intellectual property relating to these trademarks are likewise the intellectual property of CCP hf. CCP hf. has granted permission to "teh world of Sendriss" to use EVE Online and all associated logos and designs for promotional and information purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not in any way affiliated with, "teh World of Sendriss". CCP is in no way responsible for the content on or functioning of this website, nor can it be liable for any damage arising from the use of this website.
%d Bloggern gefällt das: